Who Are Ritviks Qualification Details

Ramani's blog

Those who have followed the procedures in Homas,Sacrificial 🔥 Fires Ceremonies conducted would have noticed terms like Acharya,Hotar and Rikvik.While people can identify Acharya, not many people know about Ritvik.


The Vedic priest who officiates Vedic sacrifices or rituals known asYajnasis known as Ritvik . Qualification as below.


  • Well-versed in the Vedas.
  • Should have gained his knowledge the guru, in the guru-shishya tradition of learning.
  • Of good lineage.
  • He should have been leading a pure life.

Types of Rikviks

  • Hotar representing theRig Veda
  • Adhvarya representing theYajur Veda
  • Udgatar representing theSama Veda
  • Brahma representing theAtharva Veda

Each one of these Ritviks has three assistants . Details.

  • Hotar – Maitravaruna, Acchavaka, Gravastut
  • Adhvaryu – Pratiprasthata, Neshta, Unneta
  • Udgatar – Prastota, Pratiharta, Subrahmanya
  • Brahma – Brahmanachamsi, Agnidhra, Pota

View original post

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s